New Graduates

Those graduates who have graduated from an ACOE accredited university within 5 years preceding the application date and who have successfully completed the Canadian Assessment of Competence in Optometry within 3 years preceding the application date can take the following steps to apply for a license to practice optometry in the province of Prince Edward Island.

Fully complete the “Application form for new graduates” including the signing of the declaration. Documents and items required for completion include:

  • Obtain official transcripts from all colleges and universities you have attended.
  • A copy of your CACO results sent directly to the PEICO from CEO.
  • Three copies of the “Confidential Assessment Form” completed on your behalf by assessors of your choice.
  • A recent photograph of yourself.
  • Canadian Police Information Centre (CPIC) Criminal Record Synopsis to the PEICO.  This must be dated within 6 months of the application date.
  • A copy of a valid CPR certificate.
  • Proof of professional liability insurance in the amount of at least $2 million dollars.
  • Pay the application fee of $200 made payable to the Prince Edward Island Association of Optometrists
  • When all components of the application are received and approved by the PEICO, we will make arrangements with you to write the provincial jurisprudence examination.  The fee for the examination is $100.
  • Following successful completion of the jurisprudence examination, a license will be issued.
  • First year of license fee is waived for new graduates until Dec. 31st of the year you apply and is currently $900 per year thereafter.

The PEICO requests 2-4 weeks to process an application from the time all components are received.


The Prince Edward Island College of Optometrists council is composed of four optometrists, nominated by the Prince Edward Island Association of Optometrists and two lay persons, nominated by the Department of Health and Wellness.  

The current council members and their positions are:

  • Dr. Kelly Bowes, Registrar
  • Dr. Claire Shaw, Assistant Registrar
  • Dr. Rhod MacCorquodale
  • Dr. Mark Burke
  • Harley Richardson, Treasurer
  • Merrill Wigginton

Our Role >